Briceland Volunteer Fire Department provides wildland and structure fire suppression, emergency medical aid, and other emergency services for our district of approximately 40 square miles in the Redwood Creek watershed of southern Humboldt County, California.

Fire Chief:  Aurora Studebaker
Deputy Chief:  Jim Fulton
Training Battalion Chief:  Diana Totten

Briceland Volunteer Fire Department Board of Directors

  • Elena Worley, President
  • Lewis Lester, Vice President
  • Charlie Liphart, Treasurer
  • John Lines, Secretary
  • Karl Verick
  • Nick Riley

Briceland Fire Protection District Board

  • Kathy Weber, President
  • Iona Briefer, Vice President
  • Diane Richardson, Secretary
  • T. Gray Shaw

The Briceland Fire Protection District (BFPD) incorporated in 2012, with overwhelming voter approval, as a California Special District and administers a voter-approved parcel tax to the fire department. BFPD holds public meetings four times a year, in January, May, August, and October. If you have questions or if you live in the district and would like to consider serving on the Board, email BricelandFPD@gmail.com for more information. BFPD meeting agendas are posted on this website.

Briceland Fire Department History: Beginnings Volunteer Fire Department