Briceland Volunteer Fire Department provides wildland and structure fire suppression, emergency medical aid, and other emergency services for our district of approximately 40 square miles in the Redwood Creek watershed of southern Humboldt County, California.

Fire Chief:  Aurora Studebaker
Deputy Chief:  Jim Fulton
Assistant Chief:  Tony Mengual
Training Battalion Chief:  Diana Totten

Briceland Volunteer Fire Department Board of Directors

  • John Lines, President
  • Elena Worley, Vice President
  • Tony Mengual, Treasurer
  • Karl Verick
  • Charlie Liphart
  • Amanda Zail
  • Lewis Lester

Briceland Fire Protection District Board

  • Wendy Kornberg, President
  • Rob Seifert Gage, Vice President
  • Kathy Weber, Secretary
  • Johanna Hamel
  • Elizabeth Davidson

The Briceland Fire Protection District incorporated, with overwhelming voter approval, as a California Special District in 2012 and administers a voter-approved parcel tax to the fire department. The Briceland FPD holds public meetings four times a year, in January, May, August, and October. If you have questions or if you live in the district and would like to consider serving on the Board, email BricelandFPD@gmail.com for more information.

Briceland Fire Department History: Beginnings Volunteer Fire Department